Log in

Let's Meet!
For those of us who just want to meet a ton of new people...
Want to work for a cool individual? 
9th-May-2008 07:22 pm

Hey, I am Eva; I’m 25 years old and live in the Piedmont/Grand Lake area. I have quadriplegic cerebral palsy, which means I cannot walk, speak, or use my hands. I use a wheelchair to get around and communicate what I want to say by spelling out on a letterboard. This might seem daunting at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes really easy. I need full time assistance to facilitate me living my life.

As my aide, you will assist me in daily life activities such as dressing, showering, communicating, eating, note-taking, driving, etc. (but no heavy cleaning - you will not be my maid). Also, my aides help me do stuff I want to do, like having coffee with friends, and just chilling at home. I’ll be starting grad school at The Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality in October. I also do a moderate amount of GLBTQ activism, so you’ll probably assist me with that too (see www.queersonwheels.com).    

The requirements for the job are the strength to do regular lifting (to lift me, but I'm pretty small. and can help), a driver’s license and decent record (you’ll sometimes be driving my van), a moderately interesting personality, and a moderate interest in hanging out with a 25 year-old dyke with a wacky sense of humor. It would be great if you had an interest in human sexuality too, since those are mostly the courses I will be taking. I don’t mean you have to know everything or even have taken classes in the field; just I don’t want you to be bored in class with me. You should like dogs as well since I may be volunteering at a shelter and I plan on adopting a dog in the very near future. This is not so much a “caretaking” job as a “hang out and help me” kind of job. We have to have some sort of interesting connection otherwise we’ll both be bored and I’m not cool with that. No experience required because I will train you, and all people welcome queer and straight. Currently I have two part-time shifts open: one from 8am to 4pm and one from 4-11pm, both shifts are on Saturday and Sunday. The job would start on Saturday, June 7th. The pay is between 10 and 12 dollars per hour and will be facilitated through Dare to Dream Attendant Services, the agency that will be providing my aides; however, you will be working through them for me.

If you are interested, email me about yourself and a resume at evasaidead@yahoo.com



10th-May-2008 03:27 am (UTC)
welcome to the bay area eva!
This page was loaded Feb 25th 2017, 8:30 pm GMT.