Log in

No account? Create an account
Let's Meet!
For those of us who just want to meet a ton of new people...
Gang of cool people needed! 
12th-Aug-2008 04:35 pm

Hey, I am Eva; I’m 25 years old and live in the Piedmont/Grand Lake area. I have quadriplegic cerebral palsy, which means I cannot walk, speak, or use my hands. I use a wheelchair to get around and communicate what I want to say by spelling out on a letterboard. This might seem daunting at first, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes really easy. I need full time assistance to facilitate me living my life.

As my aide, you will assist me in daily life activities such as dressing, showering, communicating, eating, note-taking, driving, etc. (but no heavy cleaning - you will not be my maid). Also, my aides help me do stuff I want to do, like having coffee with friends, and just chilling at home. I’ll be starting grad school at The Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality in October. I also do a moderate amount of GLBTQ activism, so you’ll probably assist me with that too (see www.queersonwheels.com).    

Right now I have one weekend shift open, and I also want to build a very solid backup crew to call on if someone doesn't show up or in the event of an emergency  Obviously I would have more than one backup person, so you would not feel obligated to drop everything and come.  The requirements for the job are the strength to do regular lifting (to lift me, but I'm pretty small. and can help), a driver’s license and decent record (you’ll sometimes be driving my van), a moderately interesting personality, and a moderate interest in hanging out with a 25 year-old dyke with a wacky sense of humor. It would be great if you had an interest in human sexuality too, since those are mostly the courses I will be taking. I don’t mean you have to know everything or even have taken classes in the field; just I don’t want you to be bored in class with me. You should like dogs as well since I may be volunteering at a shelter and I plan on adopting a dog in the very near future. This is not so much a “caretaking” job as a “hang out and help me” kind of job. We have to have some sort of interesting connection otherwise we’ll both be bored and I’m not cool with that. No experience required because I will train you, and all people welcome queer and straight. Currently I have these positions open:

-Part Time (Weekends 8-4 Sunday)

-Back-up (whenever)

The job would start as soon as possible. The pay is between 11 and 13 dollars per hour and will be facilitated through ICR (Inclusive Community Resources), the agency that will be providing my aides; however, you will be working through them for me.

If you are interested, email me about yourself and a resume at evasaidead@yahoo.com



This page was loaded Apr 21st 2018, 9:11 pm GMT.